top of page

F.O.M.O

FO·MO

(Fear Of Missing Out)

ˈfōmō/

noun

informal

  1. anxiety that an exciting or interesting event may currently be happening elsewhere, often caused by posts seen on a social media website.

"I realized I was a lifelong sufferer of FOMO"

I would not say I have been struggling with fomo in social aspects of my time in Philly.

This may sound a little silly, except for people who have lived/are from Portland. I have fomo for the food in Philly. For me, food is such an important part of my life. Sharing a meal is where I have fellowship, and quality time with my loved ones, and those I want to grow with. Growing up in such a "foodie" city (Portland, OR) has caused me to grow up in a luxury of food. Even within the 18 years of living there, it was not possible for me to try every type of specialty it had to offer. But, as an independent person I would push myself to try new places constantly. Because, what's the point of living in a city like Portland if I'm not going to eat the food that the culture offers?

Growing up, my Dad always encouraged me to try so many different types of foods. Being Mexican, we always had spicy food around. Every new/old place we would go to eat, he would always encourage me to get something I had never tried. Always giving me advice like:

-get restaurants specialties, they're almost always the best on the menu

-never get seafood if you aren't by a body of water

-tiny corner store restaurants sometimes secretly have the best food

-everything can use hot sauce

-the best tacos come from food carts

Now, I have this fear that if I don't try as much of the food in Philly while I'm here, I would've missed out on a huge part of its culture. I feel like it would almost look like failure in my eyes. Already, in the past month I have been trying a lot of different foods. But, how could you not in such a "foodie" city like Philadelphia? Good thing I had so much practice growing up in Portland. But, unfortunately I don't have a bottomless bank account for this somewhat irrational fear of mine. (Sorry Mom and Dad I'm working on spending less!!)

I just really believe no matter where you travel, let it be Philly, Rwanda, Chile, or just to the next neighborhood, you owe it to that culture to eat their food. It's kind of unavoidable! There is just so many different cultures packed into this city, I know I can get good food from all around the world! It's crazy how quickly the demographics change in the neighborhoods of Philly. One minute I am in Center City with all kinds of looking people, then the next minute I'm the only white person on a bus! It's crazy, and I love it!

Growing up in a culture where I am overly encouraged to try the food, just brings me this fear now in that I will miss out on something good here.

I'm still on the look out for "my place to belong" in Philly. For me, that could either entail a restaurant, or somewhere where I can spend my time with people and feel the most comfortable there. Somewhere where I can always depend on it to be the same, whenever I go.

It has been difficult, back home I would rely on friends houses, parks and neighborhoods I grew up in, even just taking long drives in my car, or frequenting "Pho Van Fresh" in the Pearl. I want to find my niche. But, I can't find it unless I try new places and keep exploring.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page